Other Misdemeanors

A misdemeanor in Illinois is any crime that is punishable by a term of less than year in local or county jail. Illinois lawmakers have designated misdemeanors as:

  • Class A, punishable by up to one year in jail, up to two years of probation and a fine of up to $2,500; Class A misdemeanors include possession of drug paraphernalia, DUI (1st and 2nd Offense), illegal consumption of alcohol by a minor, retail theft, possession of drug paraphernalia, criminal damage to property, patronizing a prostitute, and possession of cannabis (over 10 grams but not over 30 grams).
  • Class B, punishable by up to six months in jail, up to two years of probation and a fine of up to $1,500. Class B misdemeanors include criminal trespass to real property, possession of cannabis (over 2.5 grams, but not over 10 grams) and certain kinds of harassment by phone.
  • Class C, punishable up to 30 days in jail, up to two years of probation and a fine of up to $1,500. Class C misdemeanors include assault, possession of cannabis (up to 2.5 grams) and certain kinds of disorderly conduct.

A criminal conviction – even for a misdemeanor – can result in very unpleasant consequences, including time in jail, a fine, probation, and a criminal conviction, which can make it difficult to obtain a job or professional license. If you are charged with a misdemeanor, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney that will to tell you what to expect in court, how to best prepare your case to protect your rights, and obtain the most favorable outcome.

If you or someone you know is facing a misdemeanor charge, fight back with the experienced Peoria misdemeanor crime lawyers of LeFante Law Offices at 309-999-1111. Or contact us electronically using this online form.

 

Send us an Email